Pioneer Cemetery Commission

We strive to meet monthly and the updated meeting schedule should be obtained by contacting Commissioners. The monthly agendas are also posted in the courthouse prior to the meeting.

The commission has nine (9) members appointed by the County Supervisors. Each serves a 3 year staggered term.

The commission assumes jurisdiction and management of pioneer cemeteries. Its mission is to identify, protect, preserve and maintain these cemeteries and the monuments in them.

A “pioneer cemetery” is defined as a cemetery where there have been twelve or fewer burials in the preceding fifty years. The maintenance and repair of all cemeteries under the jurisdiction of the county, including pioneer cemeteries, are paid from the county general fund. The maintenance and improvement program for a pioneer cemetery may also include restoration and management of native prairie grasses and wildflowers.

You may contact the Board Members at the following email address

The following are the current board members and their term expiration:

NameTerm Ending
Wayne KirkebyJanuary 2, 2023
Tony MeyerJanuary 2, 2023
Jody HollandJanuary 2, 2023
Halley WiseJanuary 2, 2022
Stacey GosslingJanuary 2, 2022
Carleton HaugenJanuary 2, 2022
John DawleyJanuary 2, 2021
Richard MichelJanuary 2, 2021
Janelle HalversonJanuary 2, 2021