2018 General Election

The 2018 General Election will be held November 6, 2018.

Polls will be open from 7:00am – 9:00pm.

Absentee Balloting begins October 8th.  Voting by mail will be available through October 27th.  Voting in the Auditor’s Office will be available through November 5th.

Absentee Request Form


Polling Sites:

Click HERE for a list of polling sites.


Voters are reminded of changes in Election Law that now requires Proof of Identity to vote.

If you are registered to vote at your current address, please have one of the following forms of ID ready when you go to the polls:

– Iowa Driver’s License (or DOT issued Non-Driver ID Card)

– Passport

– Military or Veteran ID Card

– Voter ID Card (only issued to registered voters without a Drivers License or DOT ID)


If you are not registered to vote, or have moved since your last registration, you will need to provide proof of identification and proof of residency.  For a complete list of acceptable documents, contact the County Auditor at (563) 382-5085 or auditor@co.winneshiek.ia.us.


Candidate Listings:

Federal and State Candidates

County Candidates

Judicial Retention


Sample Ballots:

Precinct 1: Hesper, Highland, and Pleasant Townships:

Precinct 2: Frankville, Glenwood, Decorah Ward 3, and the part of Decorah Township in Supervisor District 1:
Decorah Ward 3
Decorah TWP Sup 1

Precinct 3: Decorah Ward 1, and the part of Decorah Township in Supervisor District 2:
Decorah Ward 1
Decorah TWP Sup 2

Precinct 4: Decorah Ward 2:
Decorah Ward 2

Precinct 5: Canoe, Decorah Ward 4, and the part of Decorah Township in Supervisor District 3:
Decorah Ward 4
Decorah TWP Sup 3

Precinct 6: Decorah Ward 5:
Decorah Ward 5

Precinct 7: Calmar and Springfield Townships:
Cities Of Calmar and Spillville
Calmar TWP

Precinct 8: Military and Bloomfield Townships:
Cities Of Castalia and Ossian

Precinct 9: Bluffton, Burr Oak, Fremont, Lincoln, Madison, and Orleans Townships:
City Of Ridgeway
Burr Oak

Precinct 10: Jackson, Sumner, and Washington Townships:
Jackson TWP
Cities Of Jackson Junction and Fort Atkinson

Precinct 11: the part of Decorah Township in Supervisor District 5:
Decorah TWP Sup 5